Joe McCarthy & The New York Afro Bop Alliance Big Band

Zoho Music

  1. Upwards
  2. JBen Jazz
  3. Caravan
  4. Five for Elvin
  5. Nostalgia in Time
  6. Isabelita
  7. Afternoon in Paris
  8. Positano

Drums, band leader: Joe McCarthy
Saxes: Matt Hong, Kristy Norter, Ben Kono, Dave Riekenberg, Eden Bareket
Trombones: Sara Jacovino, John Yao, Sam Blakeslee, Jen Hinkle
Trumpets: Nick Marchione, Raul Agraz. Bryan Davis, Dave Smith
Guitar: Vinny Valentino
Piano: Manuel Valera
Bass: Boris Kozlov
Percussion: Samuel Torres

On his second ZOHO release, drummer Joe McCarthy leads his impressive, NY based large ensemble through two vintage jazz numbers and six colorful pieces written by current and past band members. While there are many big bands on the scene, there none quite like this. That the band can move quickly from angular, intervallic runs to lush, pensive moments is a testament to the virtuosity of its performers and the artistic suppleness of its leader.

Back to Recordings Index